Response Post

It’s odd, especially since it’s the last book I will ever read in High School, yet 1984 was probably my favorite book for the entire duration of 9th-12th grade. You are unable to read this book and not feel some worry for the modern-day the we live in. Whether Big Brother is actually watching, and how much control do we truly have over our own life. I was explaining this book to a friend and I found myself arguing along side Orwell, explain how citizens receive their education from the hand of the government. Before lesson plans and book are put to practice in the class room, they are first inspected by government officials. The government must approve them before they even entire the classroom. In this why a lot of what we know today can be a lie. Wars, accomplishments, inventions, history as a whole can be a lie. I find it ironic that we read this book weeks before graduating from high school and entering the adult world. It makes you contemplate about the world you truly live in. In the end I would give this book two thumbs up (I know that was very cliché of me). honestly though it should be required for seniors about to enter the world. It makes them pause for a second and stand back to think about life as a whole. America was found of independence and freedom, but how far does our freedom extend. Are we being controlled by another high up offical, abiding by their rules because we simply do not other wise. This book turned me a little paranoid, yet I feel like it was a cation I needed to learn at some point in life. Overall I would rate this book 9 out of 10.


Leave a comment